Tuesday, 30 June 2020

Multi-Geo for MS Teams

O365 offers multi-geo tenants to meet data residency rules for 13 countries and regions (as of 30 June 2020):
  1. Australia
  2. Asia Pacific 
  3. Canada
  4. European Union
  5. France
  6. India
  7. Japan
  8. Korea
  9. United Kingdom
  10. United States
  11. United Arab Emirates
  12. South Africa
  13. Switzerland.
Teams data resides in SharePoint Online, OneDrive for Business and Exchange Online.  With Multi-Geo enabled, a company can specify where data will reside.  There are 2 parts to multi-geo:
  • User specific data.  This data is stored in various satellite Geo for each user e.g. email, OneDrive
  • Company/Project/division specific data e.g. file shares, Document libraries
For more info on Multi-Geo on O365

Microsoft "Multi-Geo is currently available to Enterprise Agreement customers with a minimum of 250 Microsoft 365 Services subscriptions."

The UK South Azure Region has 3 data centres/zones, and it's geo-paired paired with UK West there is over 150 mile between the regions. 

MS Teams Background Info:


Post a Comment